A beautiful and majestic town hall
Palazzo dei Priori:
the heart of Volterra’s political life and a majestic example of the old city’s power.
The construction of the Palazzo dei Priori, previously called “del Popolo” and now also “Municipio” (“town hall”), started around 1208 and was finished in the mid-13th-century. The facade has been renovated many times. For instance in 1472, when Volterra lost its municipal freedom, the lodge was knocked down and the two doors on the right hand-side were closed.
The “palazzo” is decorated with stunning terracottas, coats of arms hung up in remembrance of the “commissari” that ruled the city, and lions put on top of the side pillars as a symbol of Florence’s domain. In between the windows on the ground floor, engraved in tuff, is Volterra’s unit of measurement, the “Canna Volterrana”.
Looking up towards the upper floors, one can admire the beautiful Gothic windows and the clock, which dates back to 1393.
OPENING HOURS AND TICKETS
Opening times Priori Palace
Until 31st October:
daily from 09:00 a.m. until 07:00 p.m.
From 1st November till 15th March:
daily from 10:00 a.m. until 04:30 p.m.
Special combined ticket for the Museums of Volterra
from 1st May till 30th September
only 7,00 euros
for Art Gallery, Alabaster Museum, Palazzo dei Priori, Etruscan Acropolis and Roman Theatre.
The combined ticket is valid for 7 consecutive days.
Under 18 free.